iPhone·tography 2023: Local light, AI, and fun

I’ve not created an end-of-year review of favorite images before. I’m generally working on images one-at-a-time in an ongoing and continuous process. The current image becomes my new favorite, and I don’t often look back at what was processed earlier. This year was a little different for several reasons. 

  • It was the first time in decades that I didn’t take any pictures with a “real” camera. All images were shot with my now-ancient first-gen iPhone SE. I didn’t use a tripod either. Everything was hand-held. For a guy that used to lug over 30 pounds of large-format gear to Coyote Buttes, I feel both lazy and liberated at the same time.
  • All the pictures were local light, many from walks around the neighborhood. I added less than 5,000 miles to my car’s odometer this year, very little of it dedicated to photography. I simply took pictures wherever I happened to be and included some photo outings in trips for other purposes. I love photography but am trying to keep a low-carbon profile in everything I do. 
  • Artificial intelligence (AI) came onto the scene in a big way. It made me think about photography a little differently. I still want to take pictures like I always have but am more open to interpreting them in ways that don’t necessarily look photographic. Generative Fill in Photoshop was an exciting new choice, but I also explored other Photoshop plugins, like Topaz filters, to see what they might offer in terms of interpreting light in new ways.

So, this was a year of changes both in how I take pictures and how they were processed. I still used the TK9 plugin and luminosity masks extensively in processing, but there was more experimentation at all stages of the workflow. I thought it would be interesting to compile some of my favorite images into a blog to look at the themes and the progression that came from trying new things.

It was a good year for wildflowers in Arizona, and Picacho Peak State Park, which often has a good display, is a short drive from my home. Unfortunately, everyone else wanted to see the flowers, just like me, and it was an hour’s wait just to get into the park. Sorry, that wasn’t going to be fun, so I parked outside the gate and just walked along a service road knowing I would be content with whatever I found compared to dealing with overcrowded trails and parking lots. This is an image taken on this hike. A Topaz filter was used to simplify the image’s details.

Barrio Viejo is a historic part of Tucson. It has several photography galleries and is currently undergoing quite a bit of renovation/gentrification. I visit frequently to see what’s new in the galleries. While there, I usually stroll around to look at what’s changed and how the restorations bring new color and texture to these old facades. This image was processed with the Color Sketch action in the TK9 plugin to help enhance edge detail. 

Stairwells were definitely a theme this year. The little iPhone camera seems to like them. The fixed 29-mm equivalent focal length lens works well with architectural subjects in general, and the f/2.2 aperture provides better depth-of-field than newer smartphone cameras.

This is the same stairwell. Just looking up instead of looking down.

And still more stairs. This time the entrance to a parking garage. Like with all images, processing in Photoshop was a vital step in creating the final image, but places like this remind me that the raw material for photography (light) is endless and everywhere.

Cactus flowers are plentiful in Tucson, though this one is from a non-native species known as the Argentine Giant. This specimen is on the roadside where I walk several mornings each week, and I kept tabs on it knowing I wanted to be there when it finally decided to bloom. This is a 3.7-megapixel crop from a 12-megapixel capture, but it’s still a single exposure. Backing up a little and cropping provides excellent depth-of-field so focus-stacking is unnecessary.

Another plant along my walking route was this large agave that succumbed to the hot, dry summer. Patterns and textures have long been a favorite theme. They seem to show up quite randomly wherever I go but are always welcome. The black and white sketch action in TK9 helped add lines and texture to enhance the pattern of the leaves.

Another cactus flower, this time from my driveway. This is a barrel cactus, and its flowers bloom after the summer monsoon rains start. This was a very chaotic composition, but Topaz Studio 2 offers a large variety of “looks” to help simplify the details and bring the flower into strong visual focus, which was the intent when the image was taken. Previously, I might not have bothered to photograph or process such a disorganized subject, but by broadening the processing alternatives increases the likelihood of producing a final image that is true to the original visualization.

Another driveway cactus picture. These are the fruits of the Santa Rita cactus. It was another scene loaded with chaotic details, but the arrangement of fruits and their contrasting color compared to the blue-green cactus pads definitely offered potential. This time Photoshop’s new Generative Fill was tapped to provide the simplification. I used the TK Gen Fill plugin and the description “drawing, cactus pads with cactus fruits” as the prompt. I also set the generative fill opacity to just 35%. This kept much of the reference image’s composition intact, but allowed the AI to remove most of the distracting details.

This is a storm over the Catalina Mountains on the north side of Tucson. I was watching from a safe distance as lightning struck the mountains followed by rolling thunder. Rain poured from the clouds, and sunset lit the western sky. Unfortunately (but not surprisingly), I wasn’t fast fast enough to capture the lightning in any of my exposures. However, AI once again came to my rescue. It took several iterations, but I finally was able to add a bolt that captured both the beauty and the drama of the event. 

One of the best discoveries about using the iPhone for photography is how easy it is to to take architecture pictures with it. Pointing a regular camera upward to take a picture requires either takes a very tall tripod or strong arms and a neck brace. The smartphone camera is so small and light that it actually invites exploring light from different angles, and looking up with the camera is no problem at all. I also like how architecture images lend themselves to a wide variety of interpretation. There is a sense of reality in the buildings that is retained even when other elements in the scene are obviously processed to look unreal.

Same building, same day, same time, same light, same camera. Different composition, different processing.

The nearby University of Arizona campus is a favorite location to search for interesting light. I prefer to go when classes are on break as it provides a sense of solitude similar to what one can find on many nature trails. This is an image where the black and white sketch action in TK9 helped define the edges better to provide a crisper looking image.

Another thing that amazes me about iPhone images is the amount of detail that comes through in a print from such a tiny camera. Individual leaves, light poles in the distance, and more texture than you could see with the naked are are all clearly visible in the 12 x 16 print of this image. Is it as good as a 61-megapixel image from a Sony A7R-IV? Probably not, but at 12 x 16, the images are at least as sharp and detailed as those from my 24-megapixel APS-C camera. The iPhone is also a lot easier to carry up five flights of stairs to take this picture, and the 12-megapixel images are a breeze to develop even for complex adjustments. Photography is a lot more fun . . . when it’s actually fun.

It’s amazing how the rest of the world disappears when I’m making pictures. Whether it’s traipsing around the University of Arizona campus looking for unique angles or in front of the computer searching for a unique interpretation, the creative moment takes hold, and I happily check out from the real world, following the light wherever it wants to go. And just like how the computer allows me to be more spontaneous with trying new processing techniques, the iPhone is a great tool for experimentation in the field. It finds pictures in places where I might not have bothered to take my “real” camera out of the bag. Looking back through favorite photos of 2023 gets me excited for 2024. Hopefully more fun ahead.

54 thoughts on “iPhone·tography 2023: Local light, AI, and fun

  1. Hi Tony, Wow, those are awesome photos. I would never thought they were taken with an IPhone! Does your iPhone SE have Raw capability? What model is it? I seriously thinking of doing the switch to iPhone, but I don’t want to spend a fortune on a phone. Any Recommendations?
    Again, Great Photos and processing!! Really like the B&W’s.

    Dennis Zito

    Like

  2. Love these pictures, Tony. At my age (80), lugging all the poundage around is getting harder and harder (especially when it’s connected to a 100-400L); and I’m beginning to use the ‘phone (only a humble Samsung) much more and work on them in PS. Thanks for the prompt to do a few more creative things out and about in 2024! Happy New Year to you!

    Like

    1. Happy New Year, Martin. One of the things that made a difference for me was realizing smart phones can produce raw files. That opened up new possibilities for processing compared to just jpg images. From what I hear, Samsung phones take excellent images, so nothing “humble” about this brand at all. Consider getting an app for it that can produce raw files, and then see where it might lead you.

      Like

  3. Hi Tony! Those photos are mesmerizing! I am inspired to go out and have a blast taking photos to my heart’s content. I have been way too serious lately and reading your review elevated my view for 2024! Thank you!

    Like

    1. Interesting comment, Thomas. I’m essentially back to one lens with this iPhone. Didn’t realize I had made a round trip, but looks like that’s what happened. Not sure what to make of it. Maybe I enjoy having fewer choices. However, I think it’s more of a convenience thing. I can be more in the moment creatively with less gear.

      Like

  4. I glance at the sketch actions each time I install a new version of the TK plugin, and think, “Hm. Interesting…” but for some reason I don’t include them when looking for the thing that will boost an image from average up a level or two. Your two examples here are inspiring me to take a closer look.

    Thanks for that, and a big thank-you for the TK plugins; they are an essential part of my workflow and have been since they first appeared.

    Like

      1. I do own Topaz AI DeNoise, Sharpen and Gigapixel, and I played around with Topaz Studio beta versions as they came out, but was always disappointed in the performance of those three essential functions, as compared with the standalone filters. Perhaps it is time to take another look. I am sure it has evolved a lot since I last had a peek.

        Like

  5. That was a fun read, and each image has a touch of the sublime. Thanks for putting it together. I’ve gone kind of the other way than you, finding disappointment in the detail of my Fuji line of gear. So, at 69, have opted for a medium format beast. We’ll see how many stairs I want to climb with that load! And I do very much appreciate your AI experimentation. Along those lines, I’ve been using Midjourney to produce backgrounds then shooting subjects separately and dropping them in. It’s a tool-filled time we live in.

    Dave

    Like

  6. It’s so good to hear you express how much fun it is to make images with the iPhone. I’ve been trying to express this to other photographers for years. I have such a sense of the freedom when creating with my iPhone that I don’t feel with my Sony.

    I really enjoyed your discussion of your various editing techniques here. I have to admit that while I have the TK panels up through 7(?) I only use #4. I got mired in the complexity of all it can do. I think I’ll upgrade and make more of an effort.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, John. Yes, these are all raw captures. I use the Adobe Lightroom Camera app, which captures raw images in a DNG file. There are other apps to that will capture raw images also. From a processing standpoint, I feel starting with a raw image an important first step, and once I realized smartphone cameras can do this I started to take this tiny camera more seriously.

      Like

  7. Wow!
    Coming from a photographer with an admittedly negative bias against phone photography: This is an eye-opener. It demonstrates the saying that whatever camera you have with you is the best one and also that it is the photographer, their curiosity, their creativity, and their open mind to experimentation, that creates the photograph art (not the machine). Thank you!

    Like

    1. The overall lesson for me this year (both with the iPhone images and their processing) was that technology has the power to make us more creative. I think we often resist change or dismiss the simplicity, but in the end, we still get to decide what works for us and how we want to express ourselves. I personally have found that there are more things to photograph when I’m less rigid in how I take the picture and how I process it, and I love some of the surprises that have happened as I’ve opened up to new possibilities.

      Like

  8. Excellent images, Tony. Your architectural images reminded me that the Iphone photography guru in our camera club pointed out that putting the phone in “selfie” mode lets you get the camera nice and low and you don’t have to stress your neck for those shots where you’re looking up at a tall building.

    Like

    1. That’s a good tip, Dennis. Unfortunately, the selfie camera on this old iPhone is only is only 1.2-megapixel. New models are 12-megapixel, I think, which would give much better raw riles.

      Like

  9. Just had reverse shoulder arthroplasty to hopefully give me back use of my right arm. Until then im looking forward to just using my iPhone given your inspirational work. Luckily my old phone gave up the ghost and I picked up the iPhone Pro which can shoot in apple’s ProRaw format, so looking forward what I can do with it and TK9 when I’m at the Tucson Gem and Mineral show next month.

    Thanks

    -Kirk

    Like

    1. Hope the shoulder turns out well, Kirk. Be sure to do the recommended PT. I’ve not experimented with Apple’s ProRaw yet, so can’t say for sure how it compares with “regular” raw files you can get from iPhones with other apps. But definitely worth a try if it gives you more editing capability than jpg files.

      Like

  10. Thank you so much for this message. It is truly liberating for me. Being 71, carrying heavy equpiment is getting more difficult. I’m going to Thailand in a couple of weeks with my IPhone14 Pro as my only camera. Good photography isn’t dependant on expensive and heavy equipment. As they say, the best camera is the on you have on you at the right moment. We always have our phones. Thanks again for giving me permission to continue being a photographer using my phone camera!

    Like

    1. After sleeping on it last night, Laura, I will mention that for a once-in-a-lifetime trip, you might want to consider having a backup camera along in case your primary one has problems or is lost. That is one of the downsides of smartphones. While they are quite reliable and convenient, they also seem to get damaged, stolen, or left behind more than other cameras.

      Like

  11. Your “End of Year” email was inspirational to me. I’ve been using my iPhone now exclusively for the past year but not really going anywhere with the photos. I’ve used TK3 or 4 to now TK8, I need to get with it. Seeing your photos from Tucson where I was raised for 25 years before leaving and now in Colorado. Now I’m looking at retirement this year and I now have a goal with my Photography thanks to you.

    Like

  12. Tony,

    Thank you very much for this newsletter. I have been a professional photographer my entire adult life and am still loving it. I have found the iPhone to be a wonderful tool and is changing the way I look at photography and life. I don’t sell prints and most of my work appears on the internet so megapixels are not an advantage in a lot of the work I do. I am 79 years old and retired now but enjoying my personal work more that ever. I see the advances being made in software rather than camera gear to be the new direction that photography is changing. I have a decent camera phone, Topaz Studio 2, a new knee, and shooting more things closer to home than I did before. I love it and the look I can get with the technique of having a camera with me all the time. Here are a couple examples of some of my new phone work.

    Jerome Hart

    http://www.photocrowd.com/jerome

    Like

    1. I couldn’t agree more, Jerome. The iPhone and processing tech has changed not only how I take pictures, but also made me think in different ways about how to be creative with the images I have. So different what I did in the previous century, but very exciting. FYI, I edited your comment to remove your contact info, but I did leave the link to your photo-stream. You have a lot of wonderful images there. You professional skill definitely come through in these pictures.

      Like

  13. Great article Tony! I have been doing more iPhone-tography this year (’23) and have been surprised how usable some of the photos are.

    Cheers,

    Rich Tanton

    Like

  14. Hi Tony:

    I absolutely love what you have done here. It motivates me to use my old iPhone (11 Pro) and experiment with it, but I still love losing myself into another state behind a camera and a lens.

    Your images are exquisite and I so agree that there is so much to see and experience just walking around Barrio Viejo or the U of A. Being in a city, and in an area with so much interesting diversity of elements, gives so much opportunity to see and experiment. I started doing a 365 Picture A Day project on January 1, 2010 and have been doing it now for 14 years, without missing a day. Most of the pics are really meh but some of them I really love. And it has given me the opportunity to experiment with different PS tools. It is where I have really learned TK8 and TK9, in addition to Topaz and some Nik plug-ins.

    So keep up the experimentation and keep sharing with us all the beauty and fascinating images you see.

    I hope you have a fantastic 2024 and that all is well with you.

    Frank

    >

    Like

    1. “I started doing a 365 Picture A Day project on January 1, 2010 and have been doing it now for 14 years.” That must be a lot of fun and provide plenty of opportunities to try new creative avenues. I’d definitely see if the iPhone could become part of that routine. Might be surprising.

      Like

  15. The Santa Rita cactus came out really well. That was a good kick in my behind to say, I should look at that component of TK. All of them are fun shots and love that you didn’t ruin your body lugging stuff nor trampled the world down in pursuit of a photo. Art is everywhere. It just has to be seen.

    Like

  16. ​H​i Tony, ​thanks for your recent Blog post,​ ‘iPhone·tography 2023: Local light, AI, and fun​’; it was an interesting read with incredible photos; I particularly enjoyed your architectural images. Obviously, I’m a late-comer to the party, but as an old-timer carrying a Nikon D850 with a clutch of tilt-shift lenses, tripod etc, to photograph in the landscape, and processing on a desktop computer, I can readily appreciate your sense of freedom carrying only a Smartphone. So, please humour my ignorance as a mobile phone newbie; I understand you capture your images in the Raw format. With my recent upgrade to a Samsung S23 Ultra, I can also photograph in Raw, but tell me, please, where are you processing your Raw images and utilising plugins such as Topaz and the TK9 panel? Is this done in-phone or do you export your files to a computer first? Please excuse my ignorance. For a future blog topic, you might like to consider a walk-through of your process from capture to print. Thanks for your work evolving the TK panel over many years; I recall getting on board around 2015.
    Best wishes from Scotland.

    Like

    1. Sandy, I use the Lightroom Camera that’s part of Lightroom Mobile, which can be installed on smartphones for free if you have an Adobe subscription. It captures raw images as DNG files. However, there are other camera apps that also capture in a raw format, though I’ve not investigated any others. The advantage of using the Lightroom Camera app is that I know the raw DNG files will work with Adobe Lightroom/Camera Raw for profiles and processing. It’s just like using any other full-frame or cropped-sensor camera in that regard. Other proprietary raw-capture apps, like HEIC and Apple Pro Raw, can be edited in Lightroom and Camera Raw, but they already have some processing done on them, so they can’t accept new profiles the way DNG files from Lightroom Camera can. I experiment with linear profiles on most images, and the Lightroom Camera DNG files accept them just fine, so I’ve not had to change my workflow in this regard using iPhone images.

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Tony

    Thanks for sharing these images and proving that it is not the camera, but the brains behind the camera who is using the camera who captures and creates special images. The architecture photos are amazing and I too prefer using the iPhone for it. The new 5x zoom on iPhone 15 MaxPro has definitely opened up new creative opportunities.

    Like

    1. I never did much architecture photography until I started using the iPhone for this, and the results amaze me sometimes. It’s part of the reason I started using it for other things. Once I saw how surprisingly well some random iPhone photos of architecture elements turned out, I started to use it for other things too. More than anything, though, the iPhone has opened me up to photographing anything anywhere all at once 🙂

      Like

    1. Agreed. Topaz Studio 2 is a lot of fun and opens up many possibilities. Maybe Topaz will bring it back in some form in Photo AI. That’s where Topaz seems to be putting all it’s development efforts recently.

      Like

  18. Great article, Tony. Thanks for sharing it with us. You’ve inspired me to do more exploring with my IPhone SE to see just how far I can push it. I do have a question though. On the stairwell image above you mentioned you got an f/2.2 aperture. How do you get that setting on your IPhone SE? Are you still using that phone, or moved on to a newer version? Just curious. Thanks again.

    Take care, Linda

    Like

Leave a comment