Falling Down

The image below was taken in 2006.

Cardinal's Roost

I visited again this spring and found that the formation is starting to crumble. The image below shows that the leftmost, red-capped rock has fallen from its perch and now lies at the base of the formation. In October 2009, everything was still intact (see picture in previous post), so this happened over the winter. It was an extremely wet winter here on the Colorado Plateau. It’s possible that the amount of moisture that saturated the rock along with the freeze/thaw cycles that accompanied the winter’s El Niño precipitation was enough to topple the rock. It’s hard to know for sure what actually caused the rock to fall, but it appears to be from natural causes as it would be very hard to reach this place to deliberately push the rock off its pedestal. While the iconic sense of the place remains, the character is definitely changed. The balance that this one rock provided to photographs is now quite obvious. Also quite obvious is the fact that the balance of the rock has been precarious for quite some time. Inevitable though it may be, it’s sad to see it go.

Fallen Rock

While I certainly wasn’t the first to photograph this place, I do happen to be aware of its photographic origins. I worked with Dr. Scott Lybrook (Google him) when I worked in Tuba City. He was an explorer and was the first to “find” this place and realize its photographic potential. He shared its location with Michael Fatali. Soon thereafter Fatali released Once Upon a Time, which quickly became the defining composition, though it was taken lower down and sort of hides the rock in back. Over the years the place has been sought and photographed numerous time. Dr. Lybrook, however, was the one who got it all started.

4 thoughts on “Falling Down

  1. Tony, it is pretty sad to see that one more feature has tumbled down this winter. Reminds me somehow of that old children’s rhyme “Ten little Indians”… ;-(
    Nevertheless thank you for sharing the new picture!
    Best wishes,
    Isabel

    Like

  2. Hi Tony & Isa,
    I agree, that´s really sad – but that´s nature… I´m glad I made it there a year ago and saw it when it was still intact, though I wasn´t too lucky with the weather at the time. Interesting to hear about the origins!
    Apart from that, nice to see you have a blog now, too 🙂
    All the best,
    Björn

    Like

  3. Hi TK. I often say to myself about local areas that I can always come back to reshoot certain scenes. Even in the 5 years I’ve been photographing, that has not proven to be the case with several landscape icons falling in my home state.
    Best
    Kah Kit

    Like

  4. Very sad indeed. If it weren’t for people like yourself, I would never have seen it in all of its full or partial glory. Sad indeed. 😦

    Like

Leave a comment